Believe

by Jonathan Bailey

John 11:48
“If we let Him go on like this, all men will believe in Him, and the Romans will come and take away both our place and our nation.”

What does it mean when the Pharisees say all men will believe in Him? This was a major concern for them. If Jesus was permitted to keep on preaching, teaching, and healing then all of the people of Israel would believe in Him. What Jesus was doing in Palestine was so revolutionary that the Romans would be forced to intervene and take over the leadership role of the Pharisees. Events were escalting so fast that all of the major authorities were devising a plan to put an end to this new uprising of Jesus of Nazereth. Apparently the Jewish people were so excited so filled with a new life, that they were determined to make Jesus the new King of Israel. They believed in Him.

At first glance we will say, they believed that He was the Son of God, died on a cross, rose again, ect. But that was not the case, those events had not transpired yet. So what was going on?

What we have today is a majority of people who believe things about Jesus, but don’t believe in Jesus. They ascribe certain facts to Him. They make a mental assent to knowledge concerning Jesus and that is it. This is a common way we present Jesus to people today. Do you believe in Him?

We have to correct this thought process.

We must repent and see the true intent of what Jesus calls believe.

We will read passages like Romans 10:9-10 and say thats it!
“9 that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; 10 for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.”

Just confess and really believe in your heart that it is true. You really have to believe these things if you are to be saved. You really have to believe these things are true. That is the presentation we normaly hear today. This is how Jesus is presented to us. But if we rethink what believe means we will see something totally different. Lets use an example to illustrate this very important word believe.

Lets say that Dirk Nowistki and the Dallas Mavericks are practicing and listening to Avery Johnson their Head Coach. And all of the sudden Dirk says I believe in you coach!

What is Dirk saying?

What does he mean?

Does he mean, “Avery, we believe you are the coach of the Mavericks. We believe that you led us to the Championship in 2006. We believe that you recieved the “Best Coach of the Year” award last year.”

Is that what Dirk means when he says, “I believe in you Avery!?” Of course not. It is not that those things are not true, they are, but that is not what Dirk is conveying to Avery. Here is what Dirk is saying to Avery:

“Coach, I trust you. I trust that you know what you are doing. I trust that you have a strategy to accomplish our goal: winning a title. Coach, my confidence is with you, and because of that I will do what you say. I will show up for practice and let you teach me how to: shoot, dribble, play offence, and defense. I will commit my basketball career to you. It is in your hands. I will do my best, but I will not trust my best, I will trust you. Coach, I will listen, think, ask questions, do whatever it takes to be your basketball student. Coach I trust you. Coach, simply put, I believe in you.”

That is what it means to believe in Jesus. Anything else is a cheap immitation that is peddled at your local churches all over the western world.

God help us to believe!

