Diligence

by Jonathan Bailey

“But the precious possession of a man is diligence.”

Proverbs 12.27b

I am reading through the book of Proverbs and there is so much wisdom inside. I keep asking Jesus to give me wisdom, give me understanding! But one thing I am realizing is He gives it to us like a farmer gets a harvest, not like a boy gets a bike for Christmas.

Disciples of Jesus should be diligent. Things of value are marked by diligence. Are we diligent when it comes to seeking the kingdom, following Jesus or treasuring Jesus above all possessions?

Diligence: careful and persistent work or effort

Precious: an object, substance, or resource of great value; not to be wasted or treated carelessly. 

Instead of praying for wisdom I think we should pray for diligence. “Jesus make me diligent! You are precious to me!” We should cultivate it as best we can and allow Jesus to force the fruits and vegetables out of our fallow ground. Diligence is of great value because it leads us to our greatest value, Jesus. We should never think diligence is unimportant; it should never be wasted or treated carelessly. As we become diligent then and only then do we become wise.

“I would not work my soul to save
For that the Lord hath done.
But I would work like any slave
For the love of God’s dear son.”

 (author unknown)