Thanksgiving on My Mind

by Jonathan Bailey

This morning I was looking through the Psalms for a prayer of thanks. I have found that letting a Psalm be my prayer and speaking it out loud to God is a great way to pray! (Special thanks to Eugene Peterson for teaching me this in his book, Eat This Book) And so when I am covered with sin I pray Psalm 51 and when I am in filled with thanks I pray Psalm 100. Now that the Thanksgiving holiday is on the horizon I decided to put Psalm 100 to memory.

I just wanted to encourage everyone this Thanksgiving season to look past the turkey and football and reflect on the goodness of God. Look where He has brought you this year. He has not abandoned any of us. He is great! I will leave you with Psalm 100. My favorite part is the connection with Psalm 23. There is a place with green pastures and my Great Shepherd Jesus is making me rest there. I hope as we all enter the Thanksgiving season we will submit our bodies, minds and hearts to the Great Shepherd and find those green pastures.

“1 Shout joyfully to the LORD, all the earth. 
    Serve the LORD with gladness;
         Come before Him with joyful singing. 
    Know that the LORD Himself is God;
         It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves;
         We are His people and the sheep of His pasture. 
    Enter His gates with thanksgiving
         And His courts with praise 
         Give thanks to Him, bless His name. 
    For the LORD is good;
         His lovingkindness is everlasting
         And His faithfulness to all generations.”

 

Seek the Kingdom,
Jon

