My New Friend Gerard

by Jonathan Bailey

284_gerardmanleyhopkins

Thanks to Eugene Peterson I now know of Gerard Manley Hopkins. I don’t like reading poetry, but then again I do. I do, if I understand it. That is the key. I find poetry so hard to understand; it really requires me to think and use a dictionary. I know this is good for me but like eating vegetables I don’t do it often. Poems, I have found are a lot like parables. Once you finally discover the author’s intention then you got it! You don’t have to memorize it; it’s in you! So without any further ado I give you Gerard Manley Hopkins.

Spring and Fall: To A Young Child

 

Margaret, are you grieving Over Goldengrove unleaving?

Leaves, like the things of man, you With your fresh thoughts care for, can

you? Ah! as the heart grows older

It will come to such sights colder

By and by, nor spare a sigh

Though worlds of wanwood leafmeal lie;

And yet you will weep and know why.

Now no matter, child, the name:

Sorrow’s springs are the same.

Nor mouth had, no nor mind, expressed

What heart heard of, ghost guessed:

It is the blight man was born for,

It is Margaret you mourn for.

 

Read in Text Flow

Read a brief bio of Hopkins

