Learning from that Little Drummer

by Jonathan Bailey

asset_1674_hl

So, this year I am listening to the grand old Christmas carols and trying to learn the words and understand the lyrics. One song that has especially surprised me and I have come to love is, Little Drummer Boy. I think there is an important lesson to learn in the song. It’s probably more than a lesson; it’s wisdom. Three ideas jump out at me from the stanzas. I will start with the first one and post the others tomorrow and the next day. 

Come They Told Me
Come to Jesus! Jesus is our king! Everyday I try to come to Jesus. That can look like a bunch of different things, it could be spending an hour in the early morning journaling or reading through the gospel of John and taking notes. Coming to Christ is the most important thing we can do each day. And I will go ahead and say, if you can do it in the morning that would be ideal. 

Getting your day started with Jesus is the best. There is no substitute; it beats the newspaper, Good Morning America, the weather or just sleeping in so late that you don’t have anytime before work, school or the kids wake up! Come to Jesus! Come to Jesus! 

“The Spirit and the bride say, Come. And let the one who hears say ‘Come.’ And let the one who is thirsty says, come; let the one who wishes take the water of life without cost.”
Revelation 22.17 

  

The Little Drummer Boy
Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum 
A new born King to see, pa rum pum pum pum 
Our finest gifts we bring, pa rum pum pum pum 
To lay before the King, pa rum pum pum pum, 
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum, 

So to honor Him, pa rum pum pum pum, 
When we come. 

Little Baby, pa rum pum pum pum 
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum 
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum 
That’s fit to give the King, pa rum pum pum pum, 
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum, 

Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum, 
On my drum? 

Mary nodded, pa rum pum pum pum 
The ox and lamb kept time, pa rum pum pum pum 
I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum 
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum, 
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum, 

Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum 
Me and my drum. 

