Learning from that Little Drummer 3

by Jonathan Bailey

asset_1674_hl

I Played My Best For Him

What mom would want their baby serenaded with a drum? Maybe a piano, guitar or harp, but not a drum. That’s why I love this little drummer. Serenading baby Jesus with a drum was not a conventional idea. But it was what he had in his hands. It was what he knew and had spent his time doing. And so, Mary nodded and away this little boy went drumming.

He played his best for Jesus to honor Him. Not to get anything out of Jesus, not to make himself feel better, but to honor Jesus. When we go to work each and everyday we should work hard and do our best and as we do that we honor Jesus. Don’t think that my work is secular, so there is no spiritual significance. If you think that way, you will be missing out on the majority of your day to be with Jesus as you work.

We should think the thought, “Today I will work hard to honor Christ for the life he has graciously given to me.” Don’t stress out about overworking, just work hard. Do your best. Dallas Willard says, “Ask the question, ‘How would Jesus do my job if He were I?'”

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.”
Colossians 3.23,24

