Repentance Analogy

by Jonathan Bailey

I was getting ready this morning and my internal wheels were spinning–as usual. I was trying to think of a good analogy for repentance. And then all of the sudden it hit me! The analogy isn’t perfect (like all anologies) but it does highlight an essential aspect of repentance. So here it is:

Repentance is like going reverse in your car.

Can you imagine driving your car without reverse? Most people could not even get out of the garage this morning because they were facing the wrong way. You got to go backwards to go forwards. It’s not like most people use reverse a lot. You probably use it 4 or 5 times a day, the majority of the time your on the road you’re in drive. But how essential is it to driving that you back your car up!

That is what repentance is like. You don’t just do it once. You do it everyday. Maybe 4 or 5 times a day! There is no forward motion in Christlikeness without repentance. You cannot drive with Christ without reversing–and reversing often. Becoming and being a disciple of Jesus requires repentance all the time. Every time you repent is an opportunity to move forward. There is no other way to get out of the garage!

So reverse and get driving! I hope this is helpful for you. 

Does anyone else have any other analogies for repentance? If so, I would love to hear them! Make a comment and let me know!

“I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.”

Luke 15.7

 

 

