Saturday Afternoon Crucifixion

by Jonathan Bailey

I would be lying if I said that I was less than excited about our service project yesterday. Looking back I realize that I can be a real charlatan sometimes. Flesh can be deceiving. Our mission was to put on a Backyard Bible Project (sort of like VBS) for a government housing project in East McKinney. However, I am not a crafts guy. I am not a singing-hand-motion guy.  I like the more glamorous-adventurous-dangerous service projects like traveling to downtown Dallas and praying and feeding the homeless or staking out an Adult Video Store and praying for the guys who are coming out. Now that is “weighty service.” What a fool I am.  I am just like the disciples who thought the children were not worth Jesus time (Mark 10.13,14).

 13 And they were bringing children to Him so that He might touch them; but the disciples rebuked them.14 But when Jesus saw this, He was indignant and said to them, “Permit the children to come to Me; do not hinder them; for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.

After being there for about 15 minutes something changed in my thinking. I decided to stop being a “serving-snob” and just put my best energy and effort into it. Even if it wasn’t my style of service. I started singing, clapping and doing the hand motions. I tried getting some of the kids doing the hand motions, I helped 2 girls with craft time,  and I colored with Jacob on the Kool-Aid stained floor. I could have easily sat back in the chair with my hands folded and simply supervised,  but thank Jesus I didn’t! I was crucified. 

This morning I read 1 Corinthians 2.2 and realized something like this is what happened yesterday.

“And when I came to you, brethren, I did not come with superiority of speech or of wisdom, proclaiming to you the testimony of God. For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified. “

 

